This One’s Reusable – A Lullaby

via Daily Prompt: Survive

Slumb’ring child, filthy with mud
Your tears have been red since we met
The air will get colder if you try to run
So stay here with me, and don’t fret

You and I are made of secrets
You and I are made of stone
We sleep inside a cave of wonders,
but we lie inside our bones

Don’t you worry for the future
I have dealt with it before
Having closed up all our sutures
You should worry now no more

Listen to the ocean breeze
underneath the palm beach trees
They will tell you all to know
about what isn’t meant to be

You and I are made of secrets
You and I are made of stone
We sleep inside a cave of wonders,
but we lie inside our bones

As you drift off to this lullaby,
the night will surely end.
You and I will long have faded
into Lethe by then.

Leave a Reply

